Switching up the Routine..

I’m pretty much a creature of habit. Despite my love of beauty products and unbelievable amount of variety out there, I tend to go back to more or less the same thing, every time. I use the same eye creams, serums and foundations, over and over again. I’m also always looking for similar ingredients, even if I don’t re-purchase exact products. I’m also really slow on the uptake – trends or new hyped up products tend to take ages for me to try, but this time around, I think I’m almost on the edge of being up to date on a few new launches!

The newest product of the bunch is the Revlon Colorstay Creme Eyeshadow in the shade 730. These are not super new, but they are new in Canada – the display just came into my local drugstore a week or so ago so I had to try one. You’ll know I have an obsession with gold/brown cream shadows, so I tried to go a bit different here with the shade – Praline. It’s a lovely pinky champagne colour that I don’t normally go for. Not that I’m trying to kid myself, this is not a wild colour by any means, it’s just not in my usual comfort zone. Revlon have a gold and a bronze, both of which I was tempted to grab, but I resisted. The formula is quite different from other cream shadows I own – it’s a thin formula that spreads easily and packs quite the punch, pigment-wise. I’ve been enjoying this so far and will continue to wear it year round.

Another relatively new launch in Canada, despite it being a Canadian brand, is The Ordinary. I know the products have been available online for a while, but I have never seen them in stores until recently. I’ve been dying to try a whole ton of products from the line but resisted since I wanted to see how just one went – to start, I picked up the Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% High-Strength Vitamin and Mineral Blemish Formula.  I’ve been using it as a night-time serum as well as mixing a drop or two in with my morning moisturizer, and so far, so good. I haven’t used it long enough to see any visible differences, but it hasn’t made my break out. I don’t think I’ve ever used either of those ingredients as an acne treatment before, so I’m super curious to see what it’ll do. And the really affordable price tag makes everything better – I won’t feel like I’ve wasted a whole ton of money even if it doesn’t work out. If it does end up working out, I’d like to go back and pick up one of the Vitamin C or AHA/BHA treatments.

Toners are one of my favourite skincare items to try out – don’t ask me why, they’re really exciting to me for some reason. So, when I saw the belif brand in a Face Shop store, I knew I had to pick something up from the line. belif is not a new line and has been available in American Sephoras for ages now, but in Canada, they are not available for some reason. There are three different toners in the brand and I picked up the Witch Hazel Herbal Extract Toner, which is geared toward dry skin, but as you might know, witch hazel is a great ingredient for reducing blemishes. Since the entire theme of my skincare routine this year seems to be ‘acne-fighting + moisture = win’, this has been a great addition to my morning routine. The texture is quite thick for a toner, so I just pour a bit into the palm of my hand and pat into my skin. It’s been a few weeks now and so far I really like this toner and would like to try more from the line.

The Una Brennan Probiotic Micellar Water is something I’ve been using it on and off for the last few months, and it’s really great for removing makeup without leaving any residue OR leaving the skin tight and dry. I typically remove my makeup at the end of the day with an oil or balm, but now that we’re into the warmer summer months, using this micellar water is really refreshing.

I’ve saved the best for last again… Urban Decay has been releasing a lot of new products in the last little while, and none of them really caught my interest until I heard about the Velvetizer Translucent Mix-In Medium, which made me squeal inside. This is an ultra fine loose powder that’s meant to have a variety of uses – you can use it to set your makeup, or mix a little in with any foundation to make it more matte and velvety. For an oily-skinned gal such as much as myself this is basically a dream come true. There are so many foundations/tinted moisturizers I would love to try out there but have always been afraid because of how oily I get in my t-zone. Not to say that I will now be trying out luminous formulas, but for example the It Cosmetics CC cream is one that I’ve added to my stash and would love to wear more, but I find that it never dries down on me and is tacky and melts down throughout the day. Adding a bit of the Velvetizer actually makes this stuff stay on all day long, making it the perfect foundation for summer, with the SPF 50. Using the Velvetizer as an all over setting powder is also amazing – it’s so finely milled and soft that it makes the skin look airbrushed. The only thing I’ll say you can’t do with this is bake under the eyes – but that’s okay since other powders can do that easily.

What have you tried recently and what have your favourite new products been?

Leave a Reply

